top of page

City Services

City Government

Mayor: Jared Kent

City Clerk: Julie Holt:

City Council Members:

  • Randy Weber

  • Richard Aeschliman

  • Ron Aylsworth

  • Lori Moyle

  • Cam McDonald


Fire Department

Department Chief: Kenny Aeschliman

Department Members:

  • Jim Erickson

  • Richard Aeschliman

  • Kenny Aeschliman

  • Randy Roberts

  • Jeff Kuhse

  • Josh Everitt

  • Keri Steffen

  • Jason Brehme

  • Gary Fox


First Responders

President: Leonard Voshell

Treasurer: Loretta Lerch


  • Loretta Lerch

  • Leonard Voshell

  • Lisa Roberts

  • Randy Roberts 


Public Library

Librarian: Denise Blue or

Library Board:

  • Patti Keiderling

  • Linda Schmitt

  • Larry Popenhagen

  • Nancy Van Horne

  • Betty Hofer

North Fayette Valley School

Wadena is one of the towns that make up the North Fayette Valley School System. In 2013, the Valley Community School District entered a Whole-Grade Sharing Agreement with neighboring North Fayette CSD to become North Fayette Valley. The new mascot is the Tigerhawk, a combination of both schools' former mascots, the Valley Tigers and the North Fayette Hawks. Grades 9-12 are located in West Union at the North Fayette Valley High School. Grades 7-8 are located at the North Fayette Valley Middle School between Elgin and Clermont. Unless open enrolled out, all elementary students in Wadena will attend Valley Elementary, located in the same building as the NFV Middle School. (Source:,_Iowa)

The Wadena Public Library has all the senior class pictures from the Wadena school years on display. Wadena Alumni Association meets every year and maintains an annual scholarship program.  

bottom of page